New-ish rider looking for some advice! - Yamaha R6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 04:43 AM Thread Starter
Oil Rag

New-ish rider looking for some advice!

I'll start by apologizing if I posted this in the wrong place... I wasn't 100% sure of where this belonged.

So I'm looking to graduate from my Ninja 250 and move onto a bigger bike. I'm still a noob and I don't really have anyone to guide me through the process of upgrading. I have endless questions and I was hoping I could find some advice here.

Of all the 600's I've looked at and sat on, I absolutely love the R6 the most. I pretty much have my heart set on it. I would just like to know if there is anything I should worry about on the R6 as apposed to the other 600's? I ride my bike almost every day and when I'm riding for fun, I enjoy roads with lots of twists and turns. Is the R6 a good bike for this type of riding?

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Any and ALL advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by OneWomanWolfPack; 08-18-2012 at 04:05 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Oil Rag

Echooo...
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2012, 12:13 PM
Oil Rag

Damn this place seems pretty inactive... I am new to this forum but not to riding so I'll throw in my two cents.

I, too, started on a 250. The bike I went to after that was an 04 zx6r and it took some adjusting.

When you say you sat on the R6 did you mean the R6-R (supersport) or the R6-S (sport)? There is a HUGE difference between the R6-R (supersport) and the 650 bikes. The 650's are defined as a "sport" model which means they aren't as aggressive as the 600 supersports (R6-R). The R6-S is basically the older model R6 that is updated in some areas but ultimately tuned down so as to keep the power in a favorable range for riders who don't want the insanity of a supersport.

What you should know about the R6 -